Moving Forward Together: Dance Ireland Strategy 2018 – 2023

We look forward to sharing our Strategy with you and our special guests, including Minister Paschal Donohue TD, Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure & Reform, and the irrepressible Leonie McDonagh  on Friday, 14 September at 6pm in DanceHouse.

For us the process to develop a strategy was as important as the outcomes. It involved an extensive programme of consultation with our board, executive and stakeholders. It brought us back to a close engagement with our members. It facilitated honest dialogue and robust discussion. It supported recognition of what we have achieved whilst also acknowledging the challenges posed by our growth and development as an organisation, now balancing the demands and opportunities of a building with the needs of our members and the wider dance sector. The process has reminded us of what matters most.  

The overarching objective of the strategy development process was to develop a robust five-year strategy (2018 – 2023) that asserts the purpose, ambition and focus of Dance Ireland, strengthens our position as the leading resource and advocacy body for dance in Ireland and ensures the organisation’s sustainable and vibrant future.

Our process involved an wide-ranging programme of consultation and discovery including, in-depth interviews with key national and international stakeholders (18 interviews), board and executive interviews and workshops, ‘Have Your Say’ online survey with 129 respondents (members and non-members), desk research and literature review.

The strategy development process was also greatly informed by findings from our Engagement Process (2016) facilitated by Susan Coughlan, and enhanced by the Dance Ireland Research Project (2017) undertaken by Madeline Boughton.

We acknowledge, with thanks, the support and expert guidance of strategy consultant Janice McAdam in this process and the direction provided by the Strategy Steering Group led by John Malone (Chairperson), with Paul Johnson (Chief Executive), Richard Johnson, Dr. Orfhlaith Ni Bhriain and Maria Nilsson Waller.

Click here to RSVP